Listen to this page!
Hear this



bringing Local News to the Blind and Visually Impaired


Help We hold quarterly committee meetings and have an AGM in April or May every year. The minutes of ordinary committee meetings are available to members on our Members' page (login required).

24th Annual General Meeting

A rather quiet AGM took place in the voluminous St Faith's Church Hall on 26th April, in the presence of Mayor Faith Ponsonby and with 3 invited special guests, the family of the late Pat Nunn. Chairman Peter Loveridge reported on the year's activities, including our annual cream tea, our summer bbq and the public events we attended, the Mayor's Celebration of Age at the Plaza and the Information Fair at the Hayling Island Community Centre. There were also a couple of Mayor's coffee mornings and Peter and Alan attended the National TN Conference. Angel Radio continue to support us with a 10 minute slot on Friday mornings at 9:00 am.
Unfortunately we have to report the last edition of the 'Look Hear' Magazine. Our editors Jan Turner and Christine Bury have striven very hard to keep it afloat but it has proved too much for a team reduced practically to two. If new blood comes forward there is no reason to expect that it will not be resurrected in the future. Certificates of service were presented to Suzie Lyczywek (in absentia), Julia Hancock and Stuart Moore. A proposal to update the Constitution, unchanged since inception in 1993,was proposed by Peter, seconded by Stuart Moore and carried by show of hands.
A special note of thanks was given to Jean Dermott, our listeners' committee member, who has been the face of HBTN and involved with us from the beginning, and worked tirelessly with Pat Nunn in promoting the organisation. Jean is stepping down from the distribution team. After the formalities of committee member elections, Peter presented his treasurer's report, and asked for a reserve for known future expenditures of 36,000 in line with Charity Commission guidelines. In the main this is to prepare for an end of lease event later this year. This motion was carried.
A new award has been initiated by the Committee in memory of the late Pat Nunn, formative and lifelong supporter of HBTN. who worked tirelessly for HBTN from the beginning in 1993, to recognise a meritorious work by a volunteer. Pat's daughter Theresa and family were delighted with the choice of award, a crystal block laser-engraved with an image of Pat. The committee were unanimous in the choice of Tony Doye as being the worthy first recipient, for his outstanding service. Tony was unfortunately indisposed on the occasion but has since been presented with his award by Peter.
There being no further business, the Chairman invited Mayor Ponsonby to speak. The Mayor gave a comprehensive review of her Mayoral year and the exhausting schedule of events attended. Her highlights included initiating the Staunton Park 10k run and setting up the first Havant Music Festival, both events set to continue and hopefully grow in recognition in future years.
The evening was nicely rounded off with delicious refreshments capably organised by Shirley Froud and her team, who do it so well. Many thanks to all involved in the organisation of this enjoyable event.
Presentation of the bouquet Mayor Faith invited to speak Pat Nunn's family Pat Nunn's family admire the award The Pat Nunn award The Pat Nunn award
The official minutes of the 24th AGM are available in the link.


Our AGM this year was held at the Age Concern Borrow Centre in Cowplain on the evening of Tuesday 5th April. Our guests of honour were the 2015-16 Mayor of Havant, Councillor Leah Turner, and her consort, Andy Cousins. Chairman Peter Loveridge opened the meeting by welcoming the Mayor and her Consort and the assembled volunteers and listeners who turned out in good number to enjoy the proceedings and the splendid refreshments. In his annual chairman's and treasurer's report, Peter expressed his grateful thanks to Stella Capp, a long-serving committee member and editor, who is retiring from the committee. A special word was reserved for Pat Nunn, also retiring, who was sadly unable to be present. Pat was one of the founder members of HBTN and has been a stalwart of the organisation over many years, only retiring from the President's role a couple of years ago, and having been the backbone and organiser of the Distribution Team over many years. Along with Jean Dermott, she has done much since starting out in 1993 to promote HBTN by visiting WIs, Blind Organisations and anyone she could persuade that they needed to know what HBTN did! During the evening, cards were signed by many of those present to say thank you to Pat and to Stella for all they have done for the talking newspaper, and to wish them well.

Mention was made of our concern for the deteriorating fabric of our premises, and the fact that the lease is due to expire in 2017, and that we await a response from our landlords First Wessex as to their intentions for the building. However we continue to produce our fortnightly news and magazine to schedule, and occasional crises in volunteer levels seem to come and go. Our search for a treasurer and fundraiser have not yet met with success, and Peter has had to continue to fill the role of the former. Volunteer certificate awardsWe have identified that our constitution has been unaltered since 1993, but times have moved on and this may now need updating to comply with changes in Charity Commission practice and law. Our finances continue to gently decline, but on the other hand we are still blessed with occasional generous donations. The subcommittee continues to work behind the scenes to update our publicity material and will be sending out a listener survey questionnaire in the near future to get feedback.

Mayor Leah Turner, Consort Andy Cousins and Chairman Peter Loveridge Peter presented four volunteers: Ian Rycroft, Liz Wade, Sara Freeston and Pat Toothill (and himself) with certificates of long-service, and altogether 11 volunteers qualified for certificates this year.

Two new members, previously co-opted to the committee, were elected as members: Marion King who has taken over as head of distribution, and Nancy Lane, who has joined as an additional VI quality control member. The existing committee were all standing again and unanimously re-elected.

Following the conclusion of official business, Mayor Leah Turner was invited to speak and gave an interesting account of the Havant Mayor selection process and a review of her official year. Peter then in closing the meeting, presented the Mayor with a bouquet, and invited the assembly to enjoy the excellent buffet, prepared and served by Shirley Froud and her hard-working team.

To view notes about and photos of previous annual general meetings, please click here to load a separate page. Please note there is NO audio commentary with this page

Click on the next page to find some other links to websites that we feel may be of interest to you.

Back to Top